Dr. Frank-Chris Schoebel
Dr. Frank-Chris Schoebel
Dr. Frank-Chris Schoebel has been working as a cardiologist in Düsseldorf for 25 years and was a member of staff at the Clinic for Cardiology, Pneumology and Angiology at the University Hospital Düsseldorf for more than 16 years, including 6 years as senior physician. To the profile.

COMT & MAO - estrogen, testosterone and aromatase

Facebook
WhatsApp
Twitter
LinkedIn
Email
Telegram

Enzymes,Activating neurotransmitters,COMT,MAO,estrogen,testosterone,degradation,degradation enzymes in body

Modulation of COMT and MAO by estrogen, testosterone and aromatase.

Via the enzymes catechol-O-methyltransferase (COMT) and monoamine oxidase (MAO), the activating neurotransmitters dopamine, norepinephrine, epinephrine and serotonin are broken down. As a result, these two enzymes not only have an influence on your behavior and state of mind, but also on your cardiovascular system, for example on heart rhythm and blood pressure.

Enzymes,Activating neurotransmitters,COMT,MAO,estrogen,testosterone,degradation,degradation enzymes in body

Enzymes,Activating neurotransmitters,COMT,MAO,estrogen,testosterone,degradation,degradation enzymes in body

We distinguish people with genetically different variants of COMT and MAO:

  • Low-COMT or -MAO = slow degradation
  • Intermediate-COMT or -MAO = medium-fast degradation
  • High-COMT or -MAO = fast degradation

The formation of COMT and MAO is decisively influenced epigenetically, i.e. directly by the switching on and off of genes, by the hormones estrogen and testosterone. Estrogen inhibits the genetic formation of COMT and MAO, testosterone increases it.

Enzymes,Activating neurotransmitters,COMT,MAO,estrogen,testosterone,degradation,degradation enzymes in body

COMT, MAO and dopamine in women - normal ovarian cycle and the pill.

Estrogen inhibits the formation of COMT and MAO, thus indirectly INCREASING the neurotransmitters dopamine, norepinephrine, epinephrine, and serotonin.

Enzymes,Activating neurotransmitters,COMT,MAO,estrogen,testosterone,degradation,degradation enzymes in body

 

The influence of estrogen on COMT and MAO is particularly clear in women with a normal ovarian cycle. Accordingly, there are usually very impressive differences between the 1st and 2nd half of the cycle.

In the estrogen-dominated 1st half of the cycle, i.e. before ovulation, women are usually more active, socially more open and consequently happier. This is essentially due to increased dopamine levels, because estrogen indirectly inhibits the breakdown of dopamine via its effect on COMT. The positive radiance associated with estrogen and dopamine is also called "glow.

The "Glow" makes evolutionary biological sense, since the 1st half of the cycle is geared towards fertilization and thus towards bringing about a pregnancy. Women in the 1st half of the cycle thus have a higher attraction for men, while the "Glow" tends to provoke competitive behavior in other women.

In the progesterone-dominated 2nd half of the cycle, which is geared towards a possible pregnancy, the "glow" then recedes into the background. The cause here is an increase in progesterone in relation to estrogen. Progesterone indirectly prevents the inhibitory effect of estrogen on the formation of COMT and MAO.

In short, these connections between estrogen and the reduced formation of COMT or MAO explain the changes in mood during the ovarian cycle. Estrogen thus has a decisive influence on the concentration of the activating neurotransmitters dopamine, noradrenaline, adrenaline and serotonin.

Women who take the "Pill" for contraception must be aware that the "Pill" with its progesterone component simulates the 2nd half of the cycle. This basically means that good mood, feelings of happiness and a good appearance are less likely than if they did not take the pill.

COMT, MAO and dopamine in women - pregnancy and postpartum depression and menopause.

During pregnancy, not only progesterone but also estrogen levels are significantly increased, in some cases by about 30 times. This means that women usually feel happier during pregnancy. To what extent there are differences here when a woman is pregnant with a boy or a girl is still unclear to us.

Changes in hormonal status around childbirth, especially the drop in estrogen with the termination of pregnancy, increase the risk for peripartum depression, which occurs in 10-16% of all births. After birth, we call this form of depression postpartum depression.

In our view, pregnant women who are genetically predisposed to an increased depletion of activating neurotransmitters, especially those with high-COMT and high-MAO gene polymorphisms, are particularly at risk for postpartum depression. This assumption is indirectly supported by scientific data showing that women who had a depressive episode before pregnancy have a doubly increased risk for postpartum depression.

Knowing the gene polymorphisms for COMT and MAO, precautions can be taken early while still pregnant in women who are at increased risk for postpartum depression, and then implemented after delivery to prevent the depression.

Unless there is a desire to breastfeed, temporary estrogen substitution after termination of pregnancy may be considered. Vitamin D should be given in higher doses of 40,000 to 60,000 units per week. Vitamin D indirectly increases the formation of dopamine via epigenetic induction of tyrosine hydroxylase. Aim for vitamin D valley levels in the blood of 50-80 µg per l. Specific temporary administration of antidepressants must also be considered. Consequently, close coordination between the pregnant woman, obstetrician, gynecologist, neurotransmitter specialists and also a psychiatrist is necessary.

COMT, MAO and dopamine in women - Menopause in high-COMT and/or high-MAO.

With menopause around the age of 50, hormone production in the ovaries decreases; estrogen and progesterone are then hardly produced here. This increases the risk of depression, especially in women with a high rate of neurotransmitter degradation (high-COMT, high-MAO). Here, too, the substitution of hormones and vitamin D can be considered.

Especially in the case of menopausal symptoms, we can alleviate them through the administration of estrogen, which consequently also lifts the general mood. Since the risk of uterine cancer, for example, is fundamentally increased with increasing age, especially in women after menopause, estrogen should never be administered alone over a longer period of time. Therefore, a combination of estrogen and progesterone is always given.

However, when using a hormonal approach to modulate depression in women with high-COMT or high-MAO, care should be taken to balance the ratio in favor of the estrogen dose so that the desired effect occurs. As a rule, the balance usually plays a greater role than the absolute amount of estrogen added.

COMT, MAO and dopamine in women - Menopause in low-COMT and/or low-MAO.

On the other hand, women who have a low-COMT metabolism as a genetic prerequisite find menopause quite pleasant. Due to the decreasing estrogen level, excess activating neurotransmitters are better eliminated. Consequently, circling thoughts, inner restlessness and feelings of anxiety can become more manageable or disappear. Experienced gynecologists know this very well.

We also observe that especially women with low-COMT gene polymorphism "save" the "glow", i.e. the positive radiance, which usually occurs regularly in the 1st half of the cycle before menopause, to a certain extent into postmenopause. In short, women with low-COMT gene polymorphism often retain a more youthful glow in postmenopause.

Incidentally, if hormone therapy is being considered in menopause in a woman with low-COMT gene polymorphism, for example to treat hot flashes, then we must proceed with particular caution. We know from experience that in such a case an excess of estrogen can provoke anxiety and panic attacks. Therefore, it makes sense if in such cases the balance of estrogen and progesterone is more in favor of progesterone.

COMT and MAO in men - Testosterone

Testosterone increases the formation of COMT and MAO and thus indirectly REDUCES the concentration of the neurotransmitters dopamine, norepinephrine, epinephrine and serotonin.

Compared to women, men are first of all considered to be less capable of vibration, i.e. less emotional. In social behavior, this can also be associated with less empathy. This certainly also has to do with the fact that testosterone in men, particularly in young and middle age, indirectly causes the activating neurotransmitters to be increasingly reduced.

It is precisely the combination of high-COMT and high-MAO, in conjunction with higher testosterone levels in younger and middle age, that can lead to risk-taking behavior. To get the "adrenaline kick," men then do some daredevil things, for example, on tests of courage, in traffic, and in the popular extreme sports.

It cannot be denied that men (and women) with an increased depletion of activating neurotransmitters are more likely to be at risk of depression, especially in high-COMT. Above all, these men should be cautious in dealing with the medicinal supply of testosterone, since testosterone enhances the pre-existing High-COMT metabolism and can thus provoke depressive moods.

Enzymes,Activating neurotransmitters,COMT,MAO,estrogen,testosterone,degradation,degradation enzymes in body

COMT and MAO - testosterone and estrogen in the course of life

Finally, with increasing age, approximately between the ages of 40 and 50, testosterone levels decrease in men and estrogen levels decrease in women, respectively. In a sense, this leads to a decrease in vibratory capacity in women and an increase in vibratory capacity in men. Consequently, women basically tend to become less emotionally vibratory and men more vibratory.

Enzymes,Activating neurotransmitters,COMT,MAO,estrogen,testosterone,degradation,degradation enzymes in bodyEnzymes,Activating neurotransmitters,COMT,MAO,estrogen,testosterone,degradation,degradation enzymes in body

Consequently, the decrease in testosterone with increasing age in men may well be associated with an increase in empathy. However, this is complicated by the fact that especially in men with low-MAO gene polymorphism, irritability may increase, which may be associated with early exhaustion, latent aggressive and socially avoidant behavior in later life due to overstimulation.

Enzymes,Activating neurotransmitters,COMT,MAO,estrogen,testosterone,degradation,degradation enzymes in body

COMT and MAO in men - Aromatase

Aromatase plays a special role in the formation of estrogen, and thus also in the control of COMT and MAO. The enzyme aromatase causes the conversion of testosterone into 17ß-estradiol also outside the ovaries or the testes. We are dealing here with both quantitative and qualitative aspects.

The quantitative importance of aromatase is revealed by the high content of aromatase in adipose tissue. Abdominal fat is the main site for the extragonadal formation of 17ß-estradiol, i.e. outside the ovaries or testes. In short, the more abdominal fat, the more 17ß-estradiol. Likewise, we always see this quite clearly from the high estrogen levels in overweight men. Thus, overweight also has a clear influence on the emotional state and the circulation in men via an estrogen-mediated reduction of COMT and MAO.

Qualitatively, we need to know that there are genetic variants for the formation of aromatase, also called CYP19A1 (cytochrome P450 19A1), which contribute to an increased formation of 17ß-estradiol. This "fast metabolism", also called "high-aromatase", is not only relevant for an increased formation of 17ß-estradiol independent of the amount of abdominal fat, but also for the metabolism of drug-supplied testosterone (gel, injection). Consequently, in "fast metabolizers" the supplied testosterone is rapidly and in excess converted into 17ß-estradiol.

The genetically determined different metabolic rates of aromatase also explain influences on the rates of degradation of COMT and MAO: the faster aromatase and thus estrogen production, the slower the degradation of activating neurotransmitters via COMT and MAO due to estrogen inhibition.

Enzymes,Activating neurotransmitters,COMT,MAO,estrogen,testosterone,degradation,degradation enzymes in body

Special case - degradation of estrogen via COMT

When evaluating estrogen, it should also be considered that estrogen itself is partly degraded by COMT. Consequently, especially in women with low-COMT metabolism, the metabolism of activating neurotransmitters is disturbed via 2 pathways, once via the epigenetic inhibition of the formation of COMT and additionally also via the additional burden of the weakened enzyme pathway by estrogen.

Moreover, the constellation of "low-COMT+high-aromatase" is in a sense a self-reinforcing process, a positive feed-back loop. This can therefore lead to significant health consequences not only via an increase in activating neurotransmitters, but also through the side effects of estrogen independent of neutransmitter metabolism. Finally, a connection between these mechanisms and autoimmune diseases, which occur in about 80% of the cases in women, is conceivable.

Furthermore, progesterone-sensitive acne is also interesting in this context. Many, especially young women, have acne that can be well controlled by taking the pill, i.e. a surplus of progesterone. We have the clear impression here that the combination of "low-COMT+high aromatase" plays a role.

Therapeutic benefit COMT and MAO - gynecologist, urologist, psychiatrist and cardiologist.

As is clear from the above, an isolated determination of COMT and MAO accordingly makes little sense. Finally, only the synopsis of the gene polymorphisms for COMT and MAO in conjunction with the individual hormone status and the co-factors of the individual enzymes allows meaningful therapeutic decisions.

Knowledge of the metabolism of activating neurotransmitters is of particular therapeutic benefit for medical specialties dealing with emotional, hormone-dependent and cardiovascular disorders, in short for psychiatrists, gynecologists, urologists and cardiovascular physicians. Accordingly, more targeted and thus better treatment becomes possible for the people affected. Consequently, people with certain symptoms may particularly benefit:

  • inner restlessness, for example circling thoughts, fear up to panic attacks
  • depressive mood up to depressions
  • Cardiac arrhythmias, for example, palpitations, heart palpitations
  • Increases in blood pressure, for example, also strongly fluctuating blood pressure

We know that even for physicians, the relationships between activating neurotransmitters, COMT and MAO in relation to the hormones estrogen and testosterone, including the co-factors, are not easy to understand at first. However, the effort is worthwhile, because we have learned in the Cardiopraxis that we simply know people better this way and can target the treatment of cardiovascular diseases more individually.

Literature for all

Aromatase literature

Behavioral Biology Literature

Pregnancy literature

Literature on estrogen and testosterone

These cardiology articles may also interest you:
how is blood formed video doctor
General
Dr. Stefan Dierkes
How is blood formed?

We can understand our blood as a fluid organ. It performs complex tasks and is regularly formed. We will inform you about the tasks and blood formation in the following. Blood and blood formation

Read article now "
sport during pregnancy
General
Dr. Natalie Fleissner
Sport during pregnancy

Sport keeps you fit and healthy - even during pregnancy! Moderate sport helps against the typical pregnancy complaints and can prevent serious illnesses. What to look out for when exercising during pregnancy

Read article now "
sepsis blood poisoning
Hygiene
Dr. Stefan Dierkes
Blood poisoning

Blood poisoning, medically also called sepsis, is a real medical emergency. When you should think of blood poisoning and how you should act, we explain below: Blood poisoning -

Read article now "
Book appointment online now - fast, easy, anytime

Book your next appointment at Cardiopraxis in Düsseldorf now conveniently while on the road, at work or comfortably on the couch. Our cardiologists are available on weekdays and Saturdays for initial and follow-up appointments.
Your advantages:

Modulation von COMT und MAO durch Östrogen, Testosteron und Aromatase

Über die Enzyme Catechol-O-Methyltransferase (COMT) und die Monoaminoxidase (MAO) werden die aktivierenden Neurotransmitter Dopamin, Noradrenalin, Adrenalin und Serotonin abgebaut. Dadurch haben diese beiden Enzyme nicht nur einen Einfluss auf Ihr Verhalten und Befinden, sondern auch auf Ihr Herz-Kreislaufsystem, zum Beispiel auf den Herzrhythmus und den Blutdruck.

Wir unterscheiden Menschen mit genetisch unterschiedlichen Varianten von COMT und MAO:

  • Low-COMT bzw. -MAO = langsamer Abbau
  • Intermediate-COMT bzw. -MAO = mittel-schneller Abbau
  • High-COMT bzw. -MAO = schneller Abbau

Die Bildung der COMT und MAO wird epigenetisch, das heißt direkt durch das An- und Abschalten von Genen entscheidend durch die Hormone Östrogen und Testosteron beeinflusst. Östrogen hemmt die genetische Bildung von COMT und MAO, Testosteron steigert sie.

COMT, MAO und Dopamin bei Frauen – normaler Ovarialzyklus und Pille

Östrogen hemmt die Bildung von COMT und MAO und STEIGERT so indirekt die Neurotransmitter Dopamin, Noradrenalin, Adrenalin und Serotonin.

 

Besonders deutlich wird der Einfluss von Östrogen auf COMT und MAO bei Frauen mit einem normalen Ovarialzyklus. Dementsprechend zeigen sich in der Regel zum Teil sehr eindrucksvolle Unterschiede zwischen der 1. und der 2. Zyklushälfte.

In der Östrogen-dominierten 1. Zyklushälfte, d.h. vor dem Eisprung sind Frauen meistens aktiver, sozial offener und folglich glücklicher. Das ist wesentlich auf einen erhöhten Dopaminspiegel zurückzuführen, weil Östrogen über seine Wirkung auf COMT indirekt den Abbau von Dopamin hemmt. Die mit Östrogen und Dopamin verbundene positiven Ausstrahlung wird auch “Glow” (engl. Leuchten) genannt.

Der „Glow“ macht evolutionsbiologisch Sinn, da die 1. Zyklushälfte auf eine Befruchtung und damit auf die Herbeiführung einer Schwangerschaft ausgerichtet ist. Frauen in der 1. Zyklushälfte haben so für Männer eine höhere Anziehungskraft, während der “Glow” bei anderen Frauen eher Konkurrenzverhalten provoziert.

In der Progesteron-dominierten 2. Zyklushälfte, die ja auf eine mögliche Schwangerschaft ausgerichtet ist, tritt der “Glow” dann wieder in Hintergrund. Ursache ist hier eine Zunahme von Progesteron in Relation zu Östrogen. Progesteron verhindert indirekt die hemmende Wirkung von Östrogen auf die Bildung von COMT und MAO.

Kurzum, diese Zusammenhänge zwischen Östrogen und der verminderten Bildung von COMT bzw. MAO erklären die Veränderungen der Stimmung im Laufe des Ovarialzyklus. Östrogen hat einen somit entscheidenden Einfluss auf die Konzentration der aktivierenden Neurotransmitter Dopamin, Noradrenalin, Adrenalin und Serotonin.

Frauen, die zur Empfängnisverhütung die “Pille” nehmen, müssen sich darüber im Klaren sein, dass die “Pille” mit ihrem Progesteronanteil die 2. Zyklushälfte simuliert. Das bedeutet grundsätzlich, dass gute Stimmung, Gefühle von Glück und eine gute Ausstrahlung weniger wahrscheinlich sind, als wenn sie die Pille nicht nehmen würden.

COMT, MAO und Dopamin bei Frauen – Schwangerschaft und Wochenbettdepression und Menopause

Während der Schwangerschaft sind nicht nur die Progesteron-, sondern auch die Östrogenwerte deutlich, zum Teil um ca. das 30-fache erhöht. Das bedeutet, dass Frauen sich in der Schwangerschaft meistens glücklicher fühlen. Inwieweit hier Unterschiede bestehen, wenn eine Frau mit einem Jungen oder einem Mädchen schwanger ist, ist uns noch unklar.

Veränderungen des Hormonstatus um die Geburt herum, vor allen Dingen der Östrogen-Sturz mit Beendigung der Schwangerschaft, erhöhen das Risiko für eine peripartale Depression, die in 10-16% aller Geburten vorkommt. Nach der Geburt nennen wir diese Form der Depression eine Wochenbettdepression.

Aus unserer Sicht sind schwangere Frauen, die von vorneherein genetisch bedingt einen gesteigerten Abbau von aktivierenden Neurotransmittern aufweisen, vor allen Dingen solche mit High-COMT- und High-MAO-Genpolymorphismus für eine Wochenbettdepression besonders gefährdet. Diese Annahme wird indirekt auch durch wissenschaftliche Daten gedeckt, die belegen, dass Frauen, die vor der Schwangerschaft eine depressive Episode hatten, ein doppelt erhöhtes Risiko für eine Wochenbettdepression haben.

In Kenntnis der Genpolymorphismen für COMT und MAO können bei Frauen, die ein erhöhtes Risiko für Wochenbettdepression haben, frühzeitig noch während der Schwangerschaft Vorkehrungen getroffen werden, die dann nach der Geburt durchgeführt werden, um die Depression zu verhindern.

Sofern kein Stillwunsch besteht, kann über eine vorübergehende Östrogensubstitution nach Beendigung der Schwangerschaft nachgedacht werden. Vitamin D sollte in höheren Dosen von 40.000 bis 60.000 Einheiten pro Woche gegeben werden. Vitamin D steigert indirekt über eine epigenetische Induktion der Tyrosin-Hydroxylase die Bildung von Dopamin. Angestrebt werden sollten Vitamin D Talspiegel im Blut von 50-80 µg pro l. Auch die spezifische vorübergehende Gabe von Antidepressiva muss erwogen werden. Folglich ist eine eine enge Abstimmung zwischen der schwangeren Frau, Geburtshelfer, Frauenarzt, Spezialisten für Neurotransmittern und auch einer Psychiaterin bzw. einem Psychiater erforderlich.

COMT, MAO und Dopamin bei Frauen – Menopause bei High-COMT und/oder High-MAO

Mit der Menopause um das 50. Lebensjahr nimmt die Hormonbildung in den Eierstöcken ab, Östrogen und Progesteron werden dann hier kaum noch gebildet. Das erhöht gerade bei Frauen mit einer hohen Abbaurate von Neurotransmittern (High-COMT, High-MAO) das Risiko für Depressionen. Auch hier kann die Substitution von Hormonen und Vitamin D in Erwägung gezogen werden.

Gerade bei Wechseljahresbeschwerden könne wir diese durch die Gabe von Östrogen lindern, was folglich auch die allgemeine Stimmung hebt. Da mit steigendem Alter, und gerade bei Frauen ab der Menopause das Risiko, zum Beispiel für Gebärmutterkrebs grundsätzlich erhöht ist, sollte nie die alleinige Gabe von Östrogen über einen längeren Zeitraum stattfinden. Daher wird immer eine Kombination aus Östrogen und Progesteron gegeben.

Allerdings sollte bei einem hormonellen Ansatz zur Modulation einer Depression bei Frauen mit High-COMT bzw. High-MAO darauf geachtet werden, dass die Relation zugunsten der Östrogendosis so ausbalanciert ist, dass der gewünschte Effekt eintritt. Dabei spielt in der Regel das Gleichgewicht meistens eine größere Rolle als die absolute Menge an zugeführtem Östrogen.

COMT, MAO und Dopamin bei Frauen – Menopause bei Low-COMT und/oder Low-MAO

Auf der anderen Seite ist es so, dass Frauen die als genetische Voraussetzung einen Low-COMT Stoffwechsel aufweisen, die Menopause als durchaus als angenehm empfinden. Durch den abfallenden Östrogenspiegel werden überschüssige aktivierende Neurotransmitter besser abgebaut. Folglich können kreisende Gedanken, innere Unruhe und Angstgefühle besser beherrschbar werden bzw. verschwinden. Erfahrene Frauenärztinnen bzw. -ärzte wissen das sehr genau.

Wir beobachten auch, dass gerade Frauen mit Low-COMT Genpolymorphismus den “Glow”, das heißt die positive Ausstrahlung, die üblicherweise in der 1. Zyklushälfte vor der Menopause regelmäßig auftritt, gewissermaßen in die Postmenopause „hinüberretten“. Kurzum, Frauen mit Low-COMT Genpolymorphismus behalten in der Postmenopause häufig eine jugendlichere Ausstrahlung.

Wenn in den Wechseljahren bei einer Frau mit Low-COMT Genpolymorphismus eine Hormontherapie, zum Beispiel zur Behandlung von Hitzewallungen erwogen wird, dann müssen wir übrigens besonders vorsichtig vorgehen. Aus Erfahrung wissen wir, dass in einem solchen Fall ein Übermaß an Östrogen Angst und Panikattacken provozieren kann. Deshalb ist es sinnvoll, wenn in solchen Fällen das Gleichgewicht von Östrogen und Progesteron mehr zu Gunsten von Progesteron ausbalanciert wird.

COMT und MAO bei Männern – Testosteron

Testosteron steigert die Bildung von COMT und MAO und SENKT so indirekt die Konzentration der Neurotransmitter Dopamin, Noradrenalin, Adrenalin und Serotonin.

Männer gelten im Vergleich zu Frauen zunächst einmal als weniger schwingungsfähig, das heißt weniger emotional. Das kann im Sozialverhalten auch mit weniger Empathie verbunden sein. Dieses hat sicherlich auch damit zu tun, dass Testosteron bei Männern grundsätzlich gerade im jungen und mittleren Lebensalter indirekt bewirkt, dass die aktivierenden Neurotransmitter vermehrt abgebaut werden.

Gerade die Kombination aus High-COMT und High-MAO kann in Verbindung mit höheren Testosteronspiegeln im jüngeren und mittleren Lebensalter zu Risiko-affinem Verhalten führen. Um sich den “Adrenalin-Kick “ zu geben, tun dann Männer zum Teil waghalsige Dinge, zum Beispiel bei Mutproben, im Straßenverkehr und bei den beliebten Extremsportarten.

Es ist nicht von der Hand zu weisen, dass Männer (und Frauen) mit einem gesteigerten Abbau von aktivierenden Neurotransmittern gerade bei High-COMT eher depressionsgefährdet sind. Vor allen Dingen sollten diese Männer im Umgang mit der medikamentösen Zufuhr von Testosteron vorsichtig sein, da Testosteron den vorbestehenden High-COMT Stoffwechsel verstärkt und so depressive Verstimmungen provozieren kann.

COMT und MAO  – Testosteron und Östrogen im Verlauf des Lebens

Schließlich nehmen mit zunehmendem Lebensalter, ungefähr zwischen dem 40. und 50. Lebensjahr beim Mann die Testosteronspiegel und bei der Frau die Östrogenspiegel jeweils ab. Das führt gewissermaßen dazu, dass bei Frauen die Schwingungsfähigkeit ab- und beim Mann zunimmt. Folglich werden Frauen grundsätzlich eher emotional schwingungsärmer und Männer schwingungsfähiger.

Folglich kann die Abnahme von Testosteron mit zunehmendem Lebensalter bei Männern durchaus mit einem Mehr an Empathie verbunden sein. Kompliziert wird das aber dadurch, dass gerade bei Männern mit Low-MAO Genpolymorphismus die Reizbarkeit steigen kann, was aufgrund von Überreizung mit frühzeitiger Erschöpfung, latent aggressivem und sozialvermeidendem Verhalten in späteren Lebensjahren verbunden sein kann.

COMT und MAO bei Männern – Aromatase

Eine besondere Bedeutung bei der Bildung von Östrogen, und damit auch für die Steuerung COMT und MAO hat die Aromatase. Das Enzym Aromatase bewirkt die Umwandlung von Testosteron in 17ß-Östradiol auch außerhalb der Eierstöcke bzw. der Hoden. Wir haben es hier sowohl mit quantitativen und als auch einem qualitativen Aspekt zu tun.

Die quantitative Bedeutung der Aromatase erschließt sich über den hohen Gehalt an Aromatase im Fettgewebe. Das Bauchfett ist der Hauptort bei der extragonadalen Bildung des 17ß-Östradiols, d.h. außerhalb der Eierstöcke bzw. der Hoden. Kurzum, je mehr Bauchfett, desto mehr 17ß-Östradiol. Ebenfalls erkennen wir das immer wieder recht deutlich durch die hohen Östrogenspiegeln bei übergewichtigen Männern. So hat Übergewicht auch bei Männern über eine Östrogen-vermittelte Verringerung von COMT und MAO einen deutlichen Einfluss auf das emotionale Befinden und den Kreislauf.

Qualitativ betrachtet müssen wir wissen, dass es für die Bildung der Aromatase, auch CYP19A1 (Cytochrom P450 19A1) genannt genetische Varianten gibt, die zu einer gesteigerten Bildung von 17ß-Östradiol beitragen. Dieser “fast metabolism”, auch „High-Aromatase“ genannt hat nicht nur bei einer gesteigerten Bildung von 17ß-Östradiol unabhängig von der Menge an Bauchfett eine Relevanz, sondern auch bei der Verstoffwechselung von medikamentös zugeführtem Testosteron (Gel, Injektion) eine Bedeutung. Folglich wird bei den “fast metabolizern” das zugeführte Testosteron schnell und im Übermaß in 17ß-Östradiol umgewandelt.

Über die genetisch bedingte unterschiedliche Stoffwechselgeschwindigkeit der Aromatase erklären sich auch Einflüsse auf die Abbaugeschwindigkeiten von COMT und MAO: je schneller die Aromatase und damit die Östrogenproduktion, desto langsamer ist aufgrund der Östrogenhemmung der Abbau von aktivierenden Neurotransmittern über COMT und MAO.

Sonderfall – Abbau von Östrogen über COMT

Bei der Bewertung von Östrogen sollte auch berücksichtigt werden, dass Östrogen zum Teil selber von COMT abgebaut wird. Folglich wird gerade bei Frauen mit Low-COMT Metabolismus der Verstoffwechselung von aktivierenden Neurotransmittern über 2 Wege gestört, einmal über die epigenetische Hemmung der Bildung von COMT und zusätzlich auch über die zusätzliche Belastung des geschwächten Enzymweges durch Östrogen.

Zudem ist die Konstellation aus “Low-COMT+High-Aromatase“ gewissermaßen ein sich selbst verstärkender Prozess, eine positive Feed-back Schleife. Das kann daher nicht nur über eine Steigerung der aktivierenden Neurotransmitter, sondern auch durch die Nebenwirkungen von Östrogen unabhängig vom Neutransmitterstoffwechsel zu erheblichen gesundheitlichen Konsequenzen führen. Schließlich ist ein Zusammenhang zwischen diesen Mechanismen und Autoimmunerkrankungen, die ja in circa 80% der Fälle bei Frauen vorkommen, denkbar.

Ferner interessant ist in diesem Zusammenhang auch die Progesteron-sensitive Akne. Viele, gerade junge Frauen haben eine Akne, die mit Einnahme der Pille, d.h. einem Übergewicht an Progesteron gut beherrschbar wird. Wir haben hier den deutlichen Eindruck, dass die Kombination aus „Low-COMT+High Aromatase“ eine Rolle spielt. 

Therapeutischer Nutzen COMT und MAO – Frauenarzt, Urologe, Psychiater und Kardiologe

Wie durch die Ausführung deutlich wird, macht eine isolierte Bestimmung von COMT und MAO dementsprechend wenig Sinn. Schließlich erlaubt nur die Zusammenschau der Genpolymorphismen für COMT beziehungsweise MAO in Verbindung  mit dem individuellen Hormonstatus und  den Ko-Faktoren der einzelnen Enzyme sinnvolle therapeutische Entscheidungen.

Von besonderem therapeutischem Nutzen sind die Kenntnisse zum Stoffwechsel der aktivierenden Neurotransmitter für die medizinischen Fachgebiete, die sich mit emotionalen, Hormon-abhängigen und Herz-Kreislauf-bezogenen Störungen auseinandersetzen, kurzum für Psychiater, Gynäkologen, Urologen und Herz-Kreislaufmediziner. Dementsprechend wird für die betroffenen Menschen eine gezieltere und damit bessere Behandlung möglich. Folglich können Menschen mit bestimmten Symptomen können besonders profitieren:

  • innere Unruhe, zum Beispiel kreisende Gedanken, Angst bis hin zu Panikattacken
  • depressive Verstimmung bis hin zu Depressionen
  • Herzrhythmusstörungen, zum Beispiel Herzrasen, Herzstolpern
  • Blutdruckerhöhungen, beispielsweise auch stark schwankender Blutdruck

Wir wissen, dass auch für Ärztinnen und Ärzte die Zusammenhänge zwischen aktivierenden Neurotransmittern, COMT und MAO in Beziehung zu den Hormonen Östrogen und Testosteron einschließlich der Ko-Faktoren zunächst nicht einfach zu verstehen sind. Die Mühe lohnt sich allerdings, denn wir haben in der Cardiopraxis gelernt, dass wir die Menschen einfach so besser kennen und die Behandlung von Herz-Kreislauferkrankungen individueller ausrichten können.

Literatur für alle

Literatur zu Aromatase

Literatur zu Verhaltensbiologie

Literatur zu Schwangerschaft

Literatur zu Östrogen und Testosterone

 

 

Weiter zum MediaRezept “Neurotransmitter

 

 

 

 

 


Sie möchten regelmässig informiert bleiben? Tragen Sie sich hier für unseren Newsletter ein!


Ⓒ Cardiopraxis – Kardiologen in Düsseldorf & Meerbusch